Book Deals for the End of June

We’re back home after spending most of last week at a family reunion with Bart’s side of the family and it was a delightful week!

Now it feels so good to be back in my own bed and having a little downtime to read and catch up on life.

Here are some of the best book deals going on this weekend!

Book Deals for the End of June

Barkus Dog Dreams by Patricia MacLachlanBarkus Dog Dreams by Patricia MacLachlan – audiobook
If your favorite uncle came to visit and brought you a large dog as a surprise, you’d probably be THRILLED! (Your parents? Not so thrilled). Nicky and Barkus have all sorts of adventures together. This is book #2 in the series and book #1: Barkus is also on sale for $1.99!

 

Libby Loves Science by Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. JohannesLibby Loves Science by Kimberly Derting & Shelli R. Johannes – audiobook
Great for readers who loved Ada Twist, Scientist, Libby and her friends use creativity and ingenuity to show everyone that science is for everyone.

 

 

Book cover for Guns, Germs and Steel (Abridged) by Jared Diamond with hot deal bannerGuns, Germs and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies by Jared Diamond – audiobook 
This is a Pulitzer Prize winner about the history of the world starting back at the Stone Age, including all the weapons, germs, and societies that have shaped the modern world today. I read this one back in college for a history class and have never stopped thinking about it! 

 

Kindred by Octavia E. Butler – ebook
Dana is a Black woman who lives in the present in California with her husband – until her birthday when she’s transported to the antebellum South to save the drowning white son of the plantation owner. And it’s not the first time she’ll be sent back to this time period.

 

 

Mindy Kim and the Yummy Seaweed Business by Lyla LeeMindy Kim and the Yummy Seaweed Business by Lyla Lee – audiobook
This adorable chapter book series is all about Mindy Kim. In this installment, Mindy Kim just wants to fit in at her new school – oh, and get a puppy! But when her favorite lunch, dried seaweed, leads to some undesirable faces in the lunchroom, her and her friend get creative. Plus, it’s a Libro.fm book, so you can make your own Yoto card with it! 

 

 

Book cover for Summer Island by Kristin Hannah with hot deal bannerSummer Island by Kristin Hannah – audiobook
I’m a pretty big Kristin Hannah fan, but I’ve only read her historical fiction novels. This touching mother-daughter story might be what I need to step out into some of her other writing over the summer.

 

 

Book cover for Four Seasons in Rome by Anthony Doerr with summer sale bannerFour Seasons in Rome by Anthony Doerr – audiobook
My mom LOVED this book and highly recommended I read it. It’s the memoir of a couple who returns home from the hospital with their newborn twins to discover the husband has won a fellowship to live in Rome for a year to write. So off they go. 

 

Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai – ebook
I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book written in poems, about a young girl who leaves Vietnam with her brother and mother in 1975 to resettle in Alabama.

 

 

 

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear – ebook
This crazy popular mystery series follows Maisie Dobbs who worked on the French front as a nurse during WWI and is now trying to put her life back together after the war, working as a private investigator. You couldn’t ask for a better heroine to cheer on. (Full review here)

 

 

From the Desk of Zoe Washington by Janae MarksFrom the Desk of Zoe Washington by Janae Marks – audiobook
This book got recommended after I read Just Mercy and then I saw it compared favorably to Front Desk (one of my favorite books from 2019) and it happened to already be on my shelf, so there was no way I couldn’t pick it up. It’s a quick read and I loved it. 

 

 

Love That Dog by Sharon Creech – ebook
I LOVE this book and I loved sharing some of my favorite poems with my girls. We read it in about three days, so it was a nice in-between book as a break from longer novels. (Full review here)

 

 

YOU CAN SEE PREVIOUS BOOK DEALS HERE!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *